It was a great match, despite the "wrong" ending. But in the end, it won't be remembered for its many great rallies or for how well David played for the most part of it. It'll be remembered for that one incident, that moment at 8-8 in the fifth set when a serve from John Isner was correctly called out (as proved later on video), chair umpire Kader Nouni overruled the call and then refused David a chance to challenge his incorrect overrule on the grounds that the challenge had come too late.
That decision stood and could also not be overturned by supervisor Andreas Egli, although David said that he didn't hear the overrule because of the general level of noise from the crowd.Q. What do you make of the umpire's decision in that 8All point?DAVID NALBANDIAN: I asked for HawkEye and he make an overrule. Because the lineman call out. He overrule it. Was a lot of noises, so I asked what happened, because the lineman called out. He told me he overruled it. And I say, Okay, I see the mark. I say challenge. Not a big deal. He don't want to do it.
The complete transcript of David's post-match press conference you can read here.Q. And a lot of crowd noise, as well.DAVID NALBANDIAN: I mean, what the umpires need, press? Name? Be on the picture tomorrow? Incredible.Anyway, I didn't lose for that, but that's was very bad situation. Was amazing.
And Krystle's report of the match you'll find here.
By now, I've uploaded the many photos from the match. You'll find them on the Photo Page.